chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Claude Bolling

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 500 units • Sold Out


Safe Payments

A 2-CD set.
Newly remastered and expanded edition.
16-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Nicolas Magenham.

In collaboration with Gruppo Sugar and EMI Music Publishing, Music Box Records proudly presents the remastered and expanded CD release of Claude Bolling’s original motion picture score to the iconic 1973 comedy Le Magnifique (The Man from Acapulco), starring Jean-Paul Belmondo, Jacqueline Bisset and Vittorio Caprioli, and directed by Philippe de Broca (That Man from Rio, King of Hearts).

Le Magnifique tells the story of a second-class writer, François Merlin, the author of best-selling spy novels featuring the secret agent Bob Saint-Clar, Merlin’s dashing and reckless alter ego. His neighbour Christine appears as Tatiana and his publisher Georges Charron as evil Colonel Karpoff.

For this cult French espionage parody, Claude Bolling composed a very varied score with eclectic moods: romanticism, Mariachi music, exotic and stereotypical colours (Latin-American rhythms and a big band used as a tribute to John Barry’s music for the James Bond movies), pop music, and using a full symphony orchestra conducted by Carlo Savina and recorded in Rome at Studio Forum.

This brand new album presentation celebrates the 40th anniversary of the classic comedy in 2018. The definitive 2-CD edition features the complete film score on the first CD (including alternate versions and previously unreleased cues) and the remastered original 1973 soundtrack album on the second one. The package includes a 16-page booklet with liner notes by Nicolas Magenham, discussing the film and the score.


1. La plaza (Générique début) (2:19)
2. Le Magnifique (La mort de Rodriguez) (0:54)
3. Le Magnifique (Colonel Collins et Pontaubert) (0:22)
4. Le Magnifique (Bob Saint-Clar à Bagdad) (0:37)
5. Le Magnifique (Informateur à l'aéroport) (1:05)
6. Le Magnifique (Le pope et l'Albanais) (0:18)
7. Le Magnifique (Arrivée à Acapulco) (0:37)
8. Le Magnifique (Tatiana et la petite mariée) (0:36)
9. Mexican Paradise (Version film) (2:54)
10. Cleotiana (1:34)
11. Le Magnifique (Le poème) (0:57)
12. Paris musette (1:38)
13. Concerto pour piano, tueurs et orchestre (Version film) (1:22)
14. Le Magnifique (Christine ou Tatiana) (0:30)
15. Le Magnifique (Dans les griffes de Karpoff) (1:09)
16. Le Magnifique (Séance de torture) (0:49)
17. Le Magnifique (Du sang, de la bidoche, de la violence) (1:52)
18. Le Magnifique (Bain de sang) (0:29)
19. Le Magnifique (Les plombiers massacrés) (0:49)
20. Le Magnifique (Les plombiers épargnés) (0:38)
21. Le Magnifique (Balade en hélicoptère) (1:00)
22. Le Magnifique (Retour à Acapulco) (0:57)
23. Le Magnifique (Charron Dance) (1:30)
24. Le Magnifique (Le miroir sur la route) (0:42)
25. Le Magnifique (Le piège de Karpoff) (1:25)
26. Le Magnifique (La fin du héros) (1:20)
27. Le Magnifique (Bob Saint-Clar en civière) (0:18)
28. Le Magnifique (Course-poursuite au jardin)* (0:49)
29. Le Magnifique (François et Christine) (1:22)
30. Le Magnifique (Une nouvelle fin) (0:20)
31. Tatiana (Version alternative)* (0:30)
32. Pop Mod (4:19)
33. Le Magnifique (Charron chez Christine) (0:54)
34. Le Magnifique (Karpoff attaque) (1:00)
35. Le Magnifique (Duel avec Karpoff) (0:21)
36. Le Magnifique (Fin de l'aventure) (1:22)
37. Le Magnifique (Fin de concerto)* (1:25)
38. Le Magnifique (Dénouement) (1:42)
39. La plaza (Générique fin) (2:25)
* not used in the movie
Time • 46:42


1. La plaza (fête mexicaine) (2:25)
2. Tatiana (glamourous) (2:55)
3. Mexican Paradise (alla cugat) (3:16)
4. Concerto pour piano, tueurs et orchestre (2:49)
5. Cleotiana (en son jardin) (1:33)
6. Karpoff (l'ignoble)  (4:49)
7. Noches mexicanas (3:28)
8. Paris musette (1:38)
9. Idylle interrompue (4:07)
10. Christine (3:19)
11. Pop Mod (4:19)
12. Dénouement et final (3:57)
Time • 39:05

Total Time • 85:47

You might also like