chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed and Conducted by Georges Delerue

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 750 units • Sold Out

Safe Payments

Expanded and remastered edition.
More than 68 minutes of music, including 40 minutes of music never released before.
8-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Gilles Loison.
Limited Edition of 750 units.

After the previous CD releases of the television works of Georges Delerue (Les Visiteurs, L’Homme qui revient de loin, Le Mythomane and L’Éducation sentimentale, Thibaud ou les Croisades), Music Box Records is very pleased to explore once more the television scope of Georges Delerue's music and presents the complete score to the 1980 TV drama series Les Chevaux du soleil (Horses of the Sun, 1980) directed by François Villiers (TV series Les Chevaliers du ciel).

Adapted from Jules Roy's historical novel of the French presence in North Africa, the TV series follows the destiny of two families, the Bouychous and the Parises, from the conquest of Algiers in 1830 to the Independence in 1962.

For this lavish mini-series, Georges Delerue established the various moods of his epic-scale score with his unrivalled melodic and lyrical style. In addition to the war themes and the picturesque ones, the composer chose to highlight the moving fate of some characters for full orchestra with colorful music and exotic touches.

This expanded edition, fully remastered from the original recording sessions, features 40 minutes of previously unreleased music and includes an 8-page booklet with liner notes by Gilles Loison, discussing the TV series and the score.


1. Les Chevaux du Soleil (Générique Début) (1:37)
2. Le Départ (3:54)
3. Marguerite et Hector (1:42)
4. La Conquête d'Alger (2:47)
5. La Mort d’Hortense (2:04)
6. Triste est l'Amour (2:27)
7. Menuet (2:58)
8. Les Cousins (1:11)
9. Le Retour des Chevaux Volés (1:41)
10. Tristesse (1:28)
11. La Marche de la Reine (1:06)
12. Alger la Blanche (2:16)
13. L'Horloge Musicale (1:17)
14. Bouychou aux Champs (1:25)
15. Coupures de Presse (1:55)
16. La Guelaa (1:26)
17. La Marche de l'Empire (1:35)
18. La Mort de Bouychou (1:13)
19. La Tristesse de Sabine de Roailles (2:36)
20. Les Chevaux du Soleil  (0:54)
21. Mathilde (1:24)
22. Marguerite Attend un Enfant (1:19)
23. Soirée chez le Baron de Tonnerre (1:11)
24. Koenig se Souvient de Mefta (1:18)
25. Dernière Balade dans Alger (1:39)
26. La Chevauchée du Capitaine Griès (1:17)
27. Antoine et la Lettre (2:05)
28. L'Aube sur la Mosquée (2:03)
29. La Déception de Koenig (2:24)
30. Le Ballet de Mademoiselle Ginetti (2:15)
31. La Mort de Bacri (1:34)
32. Le Fils d’Henri (1:40)
33. Mathilde et Henri (1:38)
34. Le Bal des Adieux (1:58)
35. Souvenirs d’Enfance (1:34)
36. Les Moissons (2:08)
37. Les Chevaux du Soleil (Générique Fin) (1:46)

Total Time • 68:13

You might also like