chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed and Conducted by Georges DELERUE

Music Box Records - Limited Collector's Edition of 1000 units - Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

New remastered expanded edition. 48 minutes of music including 6 previously unreleased tracks.
8-page CD booklet with liner notes by Gergely Hubai.

In collaboration with Ramona Music and Colette Delerue, Music Box Records presents the expanded version of To Kill a Priest (also known as Le Complot in its native France). Starring Christopher Lambert and Ed Harris, the 1988 drama film is based on the true story of Father Jerzy Popieluszko, a Catholic priest and Solidarity supporter who was kidnapped and murdered by three agents of the Polish secret police. Written and directed by exiled Polish filmmaker Agnieszka Holland (The Secret Garden, Total Eclipse), To Kill a Priest was a passionate, but still even-handed presentation of the political scandal, showing the story to a wider audience a few years before the fall of Communism.

The music by Georges Delerue centers around a main title song, performed by American folk legend / human rights activist Joan Baez. Her song "The Crimes of Cain" is featured both in the beginning and the end of the film, the instrumental variations appear in several cues throughout the score. Delerue also penned a handful of source cues, included as a bonus section of the album. The new, expanded presentation features six previously unreleased tracks with nine minutes of new music, including a special recording with Delerue humming the main theme from the score.

The CD comes with an 8-page booklet featuring liner notes by Gergely Hubai who discusses the real historical events in addition to the film and the score. The release is limited to 1000 units.


1. The Crimes of Cain (Main Title) (02:46) Performed by Joan Baez
2. Suicide or State of War (01:47)
3. The Gallows (01:44)
4. Confession* (00:55)
5. The Crimes of Cain (Guitar Solo)* (01:22)
6. Love After Murder (01:23)
7. Anna and Alek (01:48)
8. Stefan and the Militiamen (01:20)
9. Popc is Dead (01:13)
10. Sacrilege* (01:29)
11. Alek Leaves the Bishop's Palace (01:05)
12. Alek's Presence (01:56)
13. Secret Believer* (01:08)
14. Kiss Me (01:46)
15. Flashing Lights (02:24)
16. Meditation (01:10)
17. Body Recovered (01:38)
18. Joseph's Escape (01:38)
19. Police Control (01:24)
20. The Murder (01:26)
21. Candles* (01:54)
22. Funeral Arrangements (01:01)
23. The Crimes of Cain (End Title) (03:21) Performed by Joan Baez
24. Waltz #1 (02:09)
25. Polka (01:37)
26. Mazurka (01:35)
27. Waltz #2 (01:56)
28. The Crimes of Cain (Vocals Only)* (01:53)

* previously unreleased

Total Time • 47:59

You might also like