chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed and Conducted by Raymond Alessandrini

Music Box Records - Limited Collector’s Edition • Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

New remastered expanded edition. More than 1 hour of music, including 25 minutes of music never released before.
8-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer.

Music Box Records is pleased to present on CD the collaboration between composer Raymond Alessandrini and director/screenwriter Jean-Charles Tacchella: Travelling avant (1987) starring Thierry Frémont, Ann-Gisel Glass and Simon de La Brosse and Escalier C (Staircase C) (1985) starring Robin Renucci, Jean-Pierre Bacri, Jacques Bonnaffé, Catherine Leprince and Catherine Frot.

Escalier C tells the story of Forster, an obnoxious art critic who learns to love through his involvement with the occupants of his apartment residential block. The main theme of the movie is based on the creaking sound of a piano, echoing the main character’s cynicism. The composer also writes for the film mysterious and lyrical pieces until an optimistic musical dénouement.

Travelling avant is a semi-autobiographical hymn to Tacchella's youth as a cinema fanatic and ciné-club enthusiast in Paris after World War II. This movie, a tribute to cinema in the 30’s and 40’s, allowed Raymond Alessandrini to write a nostalgic score where one can sometimes detect the influence of his two mentors, Maurice Jaubert and Georges Delerue.

The album has been transferred and remastered from the original master tapes. Music Box Records presents the slightly expanded Travelling avant score with two extra musical tracks specially recorded for this album and the previously unreleased Escalier C score. The limited edition features exclusive liner notes by writer Sylvain Pfeffer and new comments by Raymond Alessandrini on his collaboration with director Jean-Charles Tacchella.

1. Générique début (1:46)
2. Donald et Barbara (2:46)
3. Le cinéma (3:16)
4. Sous le métro aérien (1:55)
5. Le plus long baiser de l'histoire du cinéma (0:59)
6. Le ciné-club (1:10)
7. L’Armée du salut (1:41)
8. Chez l'oncle Roger (1:03)
9. À Pantin (1:34)
10. Au bord de l'eau (2:28)
11. Souvenirs de l'Atalante (1:08)
12. La solitude de Nino (1:31)
13. Les premiers spectateurs (0:57)
14. Nino et Janine (1:42)
15. À l'hôpital (1:20)
16. Les studios Éclair (1:39)
17. Nino et Barbara (1:15)
18. Dispute de Donald et de Barbara (2:47)
19. En sortant du cinéma (1:41)
20. Générique de fin (3:22)

Time • 36:52
21. Générique début (1:29)
22. L’expo (3:49)
23. L’appartement de Madame Bernhardt (1:47)
24. L’escalier (0:44)
25. Les peintures de Conrad (1:38)
26. Forster, Claude et Béatrice (1:39)
27. La petite fille à l’arrosoir (1:08)
28. Générique de fin (3:41)
29. Escalier C (Bande-annonce) (0:28)

Time • 16:49


30. Travelling avant (version 2015) (3:26)
Solo Piano: Raymond Alessandrini
31. Travelling avant (version jazz 2015) (4:35)

Time • 8:04

Total CD Time • 61:47
You might also like