chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed, Orchestrated and Conducted by Ennio Morricone

Music Box Records - Limited edition of 500 units - Sold Out

Safe Payments

Newly remastered edition.
8-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Patrick Bouster.

Shortly after Le Professionnel (Georges Lautner, 1981), Ennio Morricone composes the score for another French film, Espion, lève-toi (1982), directed by Yves Boisset, with whom he already worked on L'Attentat (The French Conspiracy, 1972). Even if both films have common points, apart from the dialogue written by Michel Audiard (secret services, main character menaced and then crushed by the system, tragic end), it is not the case about the soundtrack.

Through three main themes, the composer creates a tense atmosphere but always accessible. The powerful track Marche en la, through many versions, sustains the movie in moments of action and menace. Sweet and sentimental, the theme in Mélodie pour Anna and Bugle pour Anna accompanies the woman, but also the fragility, the human and conjugal sides of the main character played by Lino Ventura, into two very different variations. The third theme, with a slow tempo and low tones, carries the mystery, the meanders of the Secret Services and its underlying menace. As often in Morricone's music, the tones are important and each instrument brings a peculiar color although perceivable over the orchestra, although in a coherent whole. Here the special atmosphere is played by the Oscar Valdambrini's flugelhorn (present in the three themes), the pianoforte, the bassoon, the percussion and the flutes.

The original LP issued in 1982 contained ten tracks including the song Canción del Fuego not composed by Morricone and the track (Ombres suspendues) coming from the film Le Secret (Robert Enrico, 1974), which is not included in this present edition. In 2000, the Screen Trax CD release contained sixteen tracks, but without featuring the song. In 2016, Music Box Records, with the help of Claudio Fuiano, released the expanded soundtrack. This new 2021 reissue contains the same music as the previous edition but with greatly improved sound quality. The sound has been entirely restored and carefully remastered by audio engineer Christophe Hénault from the stereo master. The CD comes with a 8-page booklet with liner notes by Patrick Bouster, discussing the film and the score. The release is limited to 500 units.


1. Marche en la (3:02)
2. Espion, lève-toi (interlude) (3:43)
3. Bugle pour Anna (la rencontre) (2:22)
4. Téléphone sans réponse (1:20)
5. Mélodie pour Anna (version album) (2:43)
6. Espion, lève-toi (final) (3:46)
7. Secret nocturne (1:07)
8. Enlèvement et homicide (1:14) 

9. Espion, lève-toi (1:06)
10. Marche en la (1:25)
11. Espion, lève-toi (4:24)
12. Mélodie pour Anna (version film) (2:42)
13. Espion, lève-toi (1:35)
14. Marche en la (2:23)
15. Mélodie pour Anna (version courte) (0:57)
16. Espion, lève-toi (tension) (0:35)
17. Marche en la (0:53)
18. Espion, lève-toi (1:26)
19. Marche en la (version film) (2:45)
20. Canción del Fuego (4:21)
Performed by Usted Del Fuego

Total Time • 44:41

You might also like