chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed and Conducted by Georges Delerue

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 1200 units • Sold Out

100% secure payments
Safe Payments

Newly remastered. Expanded Limited edition of 1200 units.
Over 75 minutes of music.
12-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer.

In collaboration with Ajoz Films and Colette Delerue, Music Box Records proudly presents the remastered and expanded CD release of Georges Delerue’s original motion picture score to the 1988 historical drama film Chouans!, starring Philippe Noiret, Sophie Marceau, Lambert Wilson and Stéphane Freiss, and directed by Philippe de Broca (Cartouche, The African). This brand new album presentation highlights one of the most fruitful and successful collaborations between Georges Delerue and Philippe de Broca.

Chouans! tells the story of the royalist uprising of the Chouannerie in the western departements of France during the French Revolution. Céline (Sophie Marceau), a young woman, who was adopted by Count Savinien de Kerfadec (Philippe Noiret), must choose between two men who have been raised like her brothers, Tarquin Larmor (Lambert Wilson) and Aurèle de Kerfadec (Stéphane Freiss), while they take opposite sides in the conflict.

Composed six years after the Cinéscénie du Puy du fou and two years before The French Revolution, Chouans! is a rich score that amplifies the dramatic impact of Philippe de Broca’s film. The epic score expresses the whole scope of the quintessence of Georges Delerue’s lush and evocative style: a heartbreaking love theme characteristic of the composer’s neo-baroque writing style, a folk theme inspired by traditional Breton music for the Chouans, flavorful period dances, lavish baroque pieces, marching tunes and several powerful pieces for strings bringing to the film a dramatic dimension and creating an atmosphere of inevitable tragedy.

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of the film in 2018, Music Box Records is very delighted to present the expanded release of one of the most prestigious scores composed and conducted by Georges Delerue. This present edition has been fully remastered from the original master tapes and features 26 minutes of previously unreleased music. The package includes a 12-page booklet with liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer, discussing the film and the score.

1. Générique Début (1:46)
2. Prologue (1:00)
3. L'Envol de la Montgolfière (1:21)
4. Les Naissances (2:26)
5. Menuet (1:53)
6. La Fête au Château (1:44)
7. L’Ile de Pleumeur (1:26)
8. Aurèle et Céline (1:27)
9. Va vers la Joie (1:13)
10. Le Village Incendié (1:43)
11. La Machine Volante (1:42)
12. Laudamus (2:49)
13. Pavane (1:27)
14. Thème des Chouans (2:20)
15. Les Chouans devant le Château (4:59)
16. La Lanterne Magique (1:08)
17. Bouchard (1:04)
18. La Séparation (1:36)
19. Embuscade et Promenade (2:05)
20. Aurèle s'enfuit (1:06)
21. L'Adieu à Viviane (1:55)
22. L'Armée Risling (1:07)
23. Le Départ de Tarquin (2:34)
24. L'Envol (2:09)
25. Laisse-moi Rêver (1:12)
26. Danse Paysanne (2:08)
27. La Mort du Baron (1:21)
28. Retrouvailles (1:35)
29. De Profondis, Gloria et Marseillaise (2:58)
30. La Lettre Perdue (2:32)
31. La Mort de Viviane (2:22)
32. Le Camp des Chouans (1:22)
33. La Mort de Tarquin (1:21)
34. La Bataille (1:50)
35. Dans la Nuit (1:26)
36. L'Envol (2e version) (1:06)
37. Aurèle, le Chouan (1:22)
38. L'Évasion de Céline (6:29)
39. Générique Fin (3:06)

Total Time • 77:46

You might also like