chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed and Conducted by Georges Delerue

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 1000 units 

€16.20 (tax incl.) €13.50 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
check In Stock.

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

Newly remastered edition.
12-page CD booklet with French and English liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer.

To mark the 30th anniversary of Georges Delerue's passing (1925-1992), Music Box Records and TF1 Studio proudly present the newly remastered edition of his score to the 1964 classic adventure film L'Homme de Rio (That Man from Rio), directed by Philipe de Broca (Chinese Adventures in China, King of Hearts, Chouans!) and starring Jean-Paul Belmondo and Françoise Dorléac.

That Man from Rio was the director’s fifth feature film and marked a clear shift in his career, moving from tender, light-hearted romances to large-scale adventure movies. The original soundtrack shows an evolution in the composer’s musical approach for a Philippe de Broca movie. The numerous action scenes of the feature film entail a musical writing that is very precisely synchronized with the pictures, and require a larger orchestra and more diverse musical styles. The film's original soundtrack features a suspense-filled symphonic score and traditional rythms with a thundering batucada over the opening credits. Georges Delerue wrote four motifs to accompany the various characters of the film. The delicate romantic theme of Agnès, played on the flute, accompanied by layers of strings and harp arpeggios. Professor Catalan (Jean Servais) and the statuettes thieves are characterized by a five-note xylophone motif, sometimes doubled with brass instruments. As for Adrien himself, he is accompanied by a fast-paced theme whose style oscillates between a military march, circus music and carnival music. Lastly, to accompany the shots filmed in Paris, George Delerue composed a piano theme played in octaves, in order to better highlight its delicate melody, in the spirit of Frédéric Chopin’s piano concertos. The original soundtrack also includes popular Brazilian songs and music composed by Anibal Alves de Almeida and Catulo de Paula. 

Supervised by Colette Delerue, this new French 2022 release has been newly remastered from the scoring session elements and offers a new assembled program different from the previous Kritzerland release in 2009. The CD comes with a 12-page booklet with liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer, discussing the film and the score. The release is limited to 1000 units. 

1. Batucada générique (version film) (1:54)
2. Vol au musée (1:37)
3. Huit jours de perme (2:35)
4. Agnès (1:30)
5. Bowling brésilien (3:32)
6. Catalan kidnappé (1:16)
7. Le secret des statuettes (2:37)
8. Sir Winston (2:47)
9. Adrien en filature (1:07)
10. Les trois statues (2:21)
11. Agnès et Adrien (3:47)
12. Dans la jungle (1:35)
13. Madame de Castro (0:56)
14. Almedina de l'Homme de Rio (Chorando sim) (2:29)
15. Feu d'artifice (0:54)
16. Bienvenue à Rio (0:58)
17. Aventures brésiliennes (2:00)
18. Sur le fleuve (0:54)
19. Chant des pêcheurs (Serenata do mar) (3:14)
20. L'aventure continue (1:02)
21. Thème guitare (2:55)
22. La véritable statuette (1:19)
23. Soirée chez de Castro (3:44)
24. O Rio e o mar (1:58)
25. Saut en parachute (1:41)
26. Adrien à la rescousse (1:52)
27. Agnès découvre la vérité (1:31)
28. La fin de l'aventure (1:01)
29. Retour à Paris (0:51)
30. Chez Lola (2:54)
31. Quelle aventure ! (0:28)
32. Batucada générique (3:10)

Total Time • 63:49

You might also like