IRON WILL (EXPANDED) Agrandir l'image




Musique composée par Joel McNeely

Intrada - Édition limitée

Plus de détails

En stock

Attention : dernières pièces disponibles !

29,13 €

En achetant ce produit vous pouvez obtenir 2 points. Votre panier vous rapportera 2 points qui peuvent être converti en un bon de réduction de 0,50 €.

Ajouter à ma liste d'envies

Fiche technique


En savoir plus

Rousing, greatly expanded Joel McNeely score on CD! Walt Disney Pictures presents, Mackenzie Astin, Kevin Spacey, David Ogden Stiers, Brian Cox star, Charles Haid directs. Winter 1917. Grueling dogsled race between Winnipeg, Manitoba and St. Paul, Minnesota. Inspired by this real-life event, Disney outdoor adventure finds “Iron Will” Stoneman taking over for his late father, setting off with his team of dogs to win $10,000 for his farming family. Amongst the perils: tough competitors, treacherous terrain, harsh winter elements, speeding passenger train and one brutish adversary in particular. Joel McNeely lands his first large-scale film score, in part, courtesy a 1992 soundtrack album that impressed Haid: Samantha, released by Intrada in 1992. Wonders never cease! Director sought grand Americana score in manner of Copland, Leonard Bernstein. McNeely responded with magnificent, inspired symphonic grandeur replete with action, scope and power. An album of highlights from Iron Will was released at time of film’s release albeit it contained just over a half hour of music. Intrada now expands impressive score by nearly 40 additional minutes. Courtesy Disney, Intrada was given access to film’s 2” 24-track scoring session masters, happily containing veteran engineer Dan Wallin’s original film mixes across 6 channels. Masterful thematic highlights abound: Dramatic theme representing father’s spirit that guides young Will, heard in many guises from quiet to overwhelming, rousing race theme with energetic rhythms front and center, fanfares close by. Also given prominence is Will’s own soaring material as well as darker ideas heard as numerous difficulties hamper tough journey.  Previously unreleased highlights also deserve spotlight: “Race Training” sequence, virtually all of the scoring for entire middle portion of film, aggressive “Escape From The Train”, “Gus Attacked”, solemn solo trumpet of “My Sled’s Busted”, rousing “The Chase”, dramatic “Short Cut”. Special mention must go to closing bars of “Finish Line” which brings film to a close: Ushering all the available power of the symphonic orchestra at his command, McNeely offers one of the most powerful film score endings of all time! Forte possibile!! (As loud as possible.) In addition to entire score, Intrada CD presents “Winnipeg Source Music” which features period arrangements made by McNeely for early sequence with Will’s arrival in Winnipeg. Compelling liner notes by John Takis include personal note from McNeely. Handsome package design by Kay Marshall completes exciting release. Dan Wallin records & mixes at Todd-AO Scoring, David Slonaker & Joel McNeely orchestrate, Joel McNeely composes, conducts. Intrada Special Collection CD available while quantities and interest remain!

01. Prepix Montage / Main Title (3:00)
02. The Letter / Sledding Home (2:26)
03. Dad’s Death / The Funeral (4:27)
04. Race Training (4:35)
05. Mother’s Farewell (1:22)
06. Trip To Canada (2:28)
07. Winnipeg Arrival (0:41)
08. The Race Begins (2:10)
09. Heartbreak Hill (1:12)
10. Last Leg Of Heartbreak (0:50)
11. Devil’s Slide (2:26)
12. Gift From God (1:29)
13. Asleep In The Woods (1:14)
14. Gus Saves Will (2:54)
15. Will Finds The Icelander (1:48)
16. Big Bad Borg (1:08)
17. Train Porch (0:59)
18. Hero Montage (1:27)
19. Phone Report (0:53)
20. Harper Converts (2:16)
21. Gus Attacked (1:56)
22. Wounded Gus (1:49)
23. Knife Fight (1:09)
24. No T. In Tent (1:11)
25. Escape From The Train (1:12)
26. My Sled’s Busted / That Felt Good (1:40)
27. The Final Day / The Chase (6:02)
28. Short Cut (4:50)
29. Will Takes The Final Lead (2:28)
30. Finish Line (3:15)
31. End Credits (3:06)
Total Time: 69:22

Winnipeg Source Music Arranged by Joel McNeely
32. Music From Carmen (Georges Bizet, arr. Joel McNeely) (2:15)
33. Fanfares (Joel McNeely) (0:14)
34. Kaiser Bill (Charles Haid/Joel McNeely) (1:51)
35. Hard To Bid Farewell (Grace Marian Folger/       Charles Haid/Joel McNeely) (1:45)
36. Columbia, Gem Of The Ocean (Traditional, arr. Joel McNeely) (1:37)
Total Extras Time: 7:48