chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Gabriel Yared

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 1000 units • Sold Out


By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

A 2-CD set.
Newly remastered and expanded edition.
16-page CD booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger.

In collaboration with Warner Chappell Music and Miramax, Music Box Records proudly presents the remastered and expanded edition of Gabriel Yared’s score to the 2003 epic period war film Cold Mountain, starring Nicole Kidman, Jude Law, Renée Zellweger, and directed by Anthony Minghella (The English Patient, The Talented Mr. Ripley).

Nominated for seven Academy Awards (including Best Original Score and Best Supporting Actress), this wartime romantic drama is based on Charles Frazier's novel. At the dawn of the Civil War, the men of Cold Mountain, North Carolina, rush to join the Confederate Army. Ada Monroe (Kidman) has vowed to wait for William Inman (Law), but as the war drags on and letters go unanswered, she must find the will to survive, and Inman the courage to endure the savage odyssey of a war-torn way back home to Ada’s arms.

After the epic, lush romanticism of his Oscar winning score to The English Patient, Gabriel Yared’s Oscar-nominated Cold Mountain took a more introspective and melancholy approach for its characters’ emotional and physical journeys. While his haunting orchestral emotion remains, the memorable themes of Cold Mountain would center on piano and strings, conveying an unbreakable longing between two lovers who only shared a kiss before parting, but now are bound to be together. From the suspenseful build to a catastrophic explosion to the poignant melody of a last embrace, Yared’s score is a towering, poignant achievement in the composer’s work with Anthony Minghella that remains movie score romantic favorite.

Supervised by Gabriel Yared, the program has been assembled and remastered from the recording session elements. Disc 1 ("The Film Score') presents the film version of the cues in chronological order. Disc 2 (''The 2003 Promotional Album & Bonus Tracks'') presents the original Academy Awards promo album that features numerous variations, also including unused tracks and alternate material. The CD comes with a 16-page booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger, discussing the film and the score including new comments by Gabriel Yared and film editor Walter Murch on their collaboration with Anthony Minghella. The release is limited to 1000 units. 

1. Opening (1:26)
2. Preparing for Battle (4:39)
3. Arrival at Cold Mountain / The Hospital (1:42)
4. Idumea (Traditional) (Orchestral Arrangement) (1:52)
5. Without the Words (1:39)
6. The Dove (1:25)
7. Pastoral (1:55)
8. Do You Worry? (1:33)
9. Monroe's Death (0:49)
10. The Letter (3:53)
11. Someplace, Someone (3:41)
12. The Well (0:39)
13. Catastrophe (1:42)
14. Inman Running / River Crossing (1:07)
15. Fair Exchange (1:32)
16. Junior (2:06)
17. Rotten Soul (0:52)
18. Chain Gang (2:43)
19. Sisyphus (1:55)
20. Thumbs (1:18)
21. I Hardly Know Her (1:55)
22. Inman Walking / Ada Reading (2:29)
23. Heavy Weather (1:11)
24. Crocodile (2:10)
25. Strangers (1:53)
26. Bag of Diamonds (3:06)
27. I Marry You (2:53)
28. To Let You Go (1:57)
29. Black Crows (3:17)
30. Rebirth (Unused) (2:20)
Disc 1 Time • 62:54

1. Ada Plays (Piano: Gabriel Yared) (2:43)
2. Someplace, Someone (3:41)
3. Arrival at Cold Mountain (3:01)
4. Preparing for Battle (4:39)
5. Without the Words (1:49)
6. Dear Mr. Inman (1:57)
7. A Fair Exchange (4:09)
8. Escape from the Chain Gang (2:39)
9. Bag of Diamonds (3:37)
10. I Marry You (2:53)
11. Cold Mountain Anthem (3:26)
12. Black Crows (3:16)
13. Rebirth (3:42)

14. Piano in The Fields (2:07)
15. Without the Words (Alternate) (1:28)
16. Monroe's Death (Alternate) (1:06)
17. The Letter (Alternate) (3:03)
18. Someplace, Someone (Alternate) (1:37)
19. Rotten Soul (Alternate) (1:03)
20. Sisyphus (Alternate) (1:05)
21. Strangers (Alternate) (1:40)
22. I Marry You (Alternate) (2:05)
23. Black Crows (Alternate) (3:11)
24. Hymn (1:31)
25. Cold Mountain Theme (Piano) (2:47)
Disc 2 Time • 65:18

Total 2-CD Time • 128:12

You might also like