chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Alexeï Aïgui

Music Box Records • Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

World Premiere CD Release.
8-page CD booklet with liner notes by Gergely Hubai.
Limited Edition of 300 units.

Music Box Records presents the premiere release of two Alexei Aigui scores. Best-known for the Samuel L. Jackson narrated documentary I Am Not Your Negro (2016) and Raoul Peck’s biographical drama The Young Karl Marx (2017), Aigui now gets two scores released from his native Russia.

Mikhail Kalatozishvili's, Wild Field (Dikoe pole, 2008) takes place in the remote steppes of Central Asia, where a young doctor relocates thinking his fiancée soon will join him... But of course, life has other plans for him. The music for Wild Field is inspired by the location of the filming, filled with ethnic elements and a passionate song interlude, performed by Elena Sergeeva.

Aleksandr Kott's Test (Ispytanie, 2014) also takes place in the Russian steppes. This picture, completely free of dialogue, tells the tale of a father and his gentle, beautiful daughter who live a quiet life until two young men fall for the girl. The subtle musical accompaniment once again finds its inspiration in the sound of the steppes, in particular, the voice of Buryat singer Namgar.

The 8-page booklet features liner notes by Gergely Hubai, discussing the films and the scores, based on an original interview with the composer. The release is limited to 300 units.

1. The Beginning (01:52)
2. Ispytanie (01:55)
3. Morning in the Steppe (03:03)
4. The Voice of the Wind (02:45)
5. Dina's Album (04:30)
6. Meeting at the Well (04:26)
7. Fragile Happiness (05:15)
8. Uninvited Guests (03:54)
9. In the Dusk (02:10)
10. The Father's Arrest (02:38)
11. Father's Passing (03:08)
12. Breathless (03:23)
13. Matchmakers (02:54)
14. Wandering (01:45)
15. Steppe's Whispers (04:44)
Time • 49:01

16. I Asked the Wind (03:12)
17. Katya's Departure (01:49)
18. She's Gone (01:26)
19. Angel on the Hill (05:25)
20. Dark Steppe (02:17)
21. Wild Field (03:21)
22. Clinging to the Ground (02:57)
Time • 20:44

Total Time • 69:47

You might also like