chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Éric Demarsan / Jean Musy

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 300 units • Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

World Premiere CD Release. Limited Edition of 300 units.
12-page CD booklet with liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer.

Music Box Records presents on the same CD two original motion picture soundtracks for Costa-Gavras's films: Section spéciale (Special Section, 1975) composed by Éric Demarsan and Clair de femme (Womanlight, 1979) composed by Jean Musy.

The cynical humour that pervades the film Section spéciale inspired the composer Éric Demarsan to write a main theme in the shape of an old-fashioned and light-hearted waltz, a perfect evocation of the parody of justice implemented by Vichy government during World War II. The score also features percussive tracks with tense strings, and melodic pieces with romantic flute. 

For Clair de femme, Jean Musy wrote three themes that emphasize the loneliness and emotional distress of the two main characters (Yves Montand and Romy Schneider). The touching, slow melody of the main theme is played on the panpipes. The album is rounded out by some pieces of source music and a lively pop version of Tomaso Albinoni’s Adagio in G minor that gives a sparkly touch of color to this grief-ridden movie. 

The two scores have been fully remastered from the original master tapes. The package includes a 12-page booklet featuring exclusive liner notes by writer Sylvain Pfeffer discussing the films and the scores, based on new comments by Éric Demarsan and Jean Musy on their collaboration with Costa-Gavras. The release is limited to 300 units.

1. Thème Section spéciale (2:32)
2. Extrait de l'opéra Boris Godounov : Prologue - L'air de l'innocent (3:36)
3. La grande source (1:16)
4. Fin de la manifestation (1:10)
5. Réunion au bord du lac (1:21)
6. Thème Section spéciale (Manège) (1:38)
7. Attentat du métro Barbès (2:18)
8. Impromptus hongrois (1:48)
9. Chez l'exécuteur (2:06)
10. Installation de la section spéciale (1:56)
11. Marche militaire (1:10)
12. Bal villageois (1:38)
13. Beunon et sa femme (2:58)
14. La jeunesse de Bastard (1:04)
15. Avant l'exécution (1:21)
16. Thème Section spéciale (2:32)
Time • 31:04

17. Thème principal (3:07)
18. España Cañi (1:28)
19. Danse dans le cabaret (4:29)
20. Solitude dans la rue (2:53)
21. Thème principal joué au torégatto (3:59)
22. L'adagio d'Albinoni (5:21)
23. Thème principal joué à la flûte de pan (2:02)
24. Thème de la rencontre (2:47)
25. Musique du numéro de Galva (1:28)
26. Thème principal (Place de la Concorde) (2:15)
27. Thème de la séparation (Générique de fin) (2:53)
Time • 33:08

CD Total Time • 64:14

You might also like