chevron_left chevron_right


Music composed by Jerry Goldsmith

Varèse Club - Limited Edition of 2000 units

€30.95 (tax incl.) €25.79 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock
100% secure payments

By buying this product you can collect up to 3 points. Your cart will total 3 points that can be converted into a voucher of €0.75.

Safe Payments

Jerry Goldsmith was delighted to turn to “people pictures” in the early 1990s, seeking a change of pace from the action and genre movies that had dominated his schedule. The Russia House was the first, followed not long thereafter by another drama starring Michelle Pfeiffer: Love Field, directed by Jonathan Kaplan (The Accused). Pfeiffer and Dennis Haybert starred in an interracial romance amidst the racial strife of 1963 Texas, in the aftermath of the Kennedy assassination.

Goldsmith composed a tender Americana score for Love Field, with lyrical strings and bluesy piano offering warmth and period flavorings, not unlike his gentle, humanistic music for actual 1960s dramas. The film also features moments of suspense and action—as society looked askance on relations between races at the time—which Goldsmith captured with more intense strains.

Released by Varèse Sarabande at the time of the film, Goldsmith’s Love Field soundtrack has been expanded to nearly double the length for this Deluxe Edition. Also included is a bonus section of blues piano tracks performed by the prestigious rock and blues pianist, Bill Payne, which replaced some of Goldsmith’s music in the finished film.

Liner notes by Tim Greiving include new interview comments with Jonathan Kaplan and Bill Payne. Kaplan recalls advice from his father, the composer Sol Kaplan: “If you ever get the chance to work with Jerry Goldsmith, take it.” Good advice!

Limited to 2000 copies

1. Family Album (1:48)
2. The Posters (1:38)
3. The Assassination (2:28)
4. The Note (1:16)
5. On The Bus (1:56)
6. You Win (1:52)
7. The Accident (3:24)
8. First Words (1:08)
9. The Photos (1:17)
10. Lost Luggage (10:33)
11. Repairs (1:02)
12. I Don't Mind (:36)
13. The Map (1:05)
14. What's Going On? (1:08)
15. Roadside Incident (2:44)
16. The Visitors (1:43)
17. Pretending (2:07)
18. We’re Not Alone (2:32)
19. Staying Behind (1:34)
20. The Motel (6:29)
21. The Locket (1:22)
22. Together Again (5:37)
23. Sweet Girl Blues* (1:48)
24. Travelers Blues* (:59)
25. America: Thunder, Tears, Defiance (version one)* (:55)
26. Night Rollin’ On* (:35)
27. Mixed Signals* (2:17)
28. America: Thunder, Tears, Defiance (version two)* (1:02)
29. Boogie On Out a Here* (:28)
30. So Long Blues* (:25)
31. L.F. Blues – America: Thunder, Tears, Defiance* (4:12)
32. L.F. Blues – America: Thunder, Tears, Defiance (alternate take)* (4:13)

Music Composed and Conducted by Jerry Goldsmith
*Composed by Bill Payne

You might also like