chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed, Arranged and Performed by John Scott

Dragon's Domain - Limited Edition of 500 units

€26.95 (tax incl.) €22.46 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock
100% secure payments
Safe Payments

Dragon’s Domain Records presents the original soundtrack for WEBS AND OTHER WONDERS, featuring music composed and produced by John Scott (ANTONY AND CLEOPATRA, GREYSTOKE: THE LEGEND OF TARZAN, THE FINAL COUNTDOWN, SHOOT TO KILL). In addition to his orchestral and electronic film scores, Scott also maintained a long-running association with the French explorer Jacques Cousteau, composing music for more than a dozen TV documentary series from 1976 through 1994.

In the 1970s, the British documentary company Oxford Scientific Films began creating natural history films using then-innovative camera techniques such as time-lapse photography, and micro and macro imaging. The actor and producer Bill Travers (known for BORN FREE) was producing the Jane Goodall wildlife films and suggested that Scott would be the right composer for the Oxford Scientific projects. Scott composed music for four of their films: SEXUAL ENCOUNTERS OF THE FLORAL KIND, (all the things that plants get up to in order to have sex), DRIFTERS (the marine vegetation that inhabit the Sargasso Sea – a unique region of the Atlantic Ocean), BUGS, and WEBS AND OTHER WONDERS – (all about the habits of various kinds of spiders).

Also around this time, the composer had set up his electronic studio in London and was looking for unique scoring opportunities to use his new gear. Given the subject matter of WEBS AND OTHER WONDERS, it’s not surprising that Scott chose to base his score around the Dies Irae (Day of Wrath), a medieval plainsong chant that has been referenced in innumerable classical compositions and film scores alike, and is often associated with its use as a requiem during the Catholic mass for the dead. Scott’s electronic music for WEBS AND OTHER WONDERS provides unique musical treatments for these eight-legged creatures as the film explores the daily life of various arachnids.

For nearly sixty years, John Scott has established himself as one of the finest composers working in films today, having collaborated with the foremost producers and directors worldwide, including Richard Donner, Mark Damon, Hugh Hudson, Norman Jewison, Irvin Kershner, Daniel Petrie, Roger Spottiswoode and Charlton Heston, among others. He has been an essential voice in international scoring that thoroughly belies his occasional over-looked stature in the midst of 'brand name' composers. Frequently associated with Hollywood's finest composers, including Jerry Goldsmith, Elmer Bernstein and John Williams, John Scott has created a body of work that stands up as some of the finest music ever written for film.

Dragon’s Domain Records presents the world premiere compact disc release of WEBS AND OTHER WONDERS, featuring music composed and produced by John Scott, mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland. The booklet contains liner notes written by noted author Randall Larson, with the participation of the composer.

1. Webs and Other Wonders (2:08)
2. Crab Spider (1:04)
3. Male Pursuer Offers Prey (2:02)
4. Female Pursuer Lays Eggs (1:43)
5. Lenethia and Blackbird (1:17)
6. Lace Web Spider (1:19)
7. Black Widow and Scorpion (4:55)
8. Garden Spider (3:46)
9. Robber Spider (2:13)
10. Net Casting Spider (2:53)
11. Bolas Spider (1:49)
12. Lucky Bugs (1:46)
13. Closing Credits (1:10)
Total Time: 28:36

You might also like