chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Nino Rota

Quartet Records - Limited edition of 1000 units


€25.95 (tax incl.) €21.63 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) / 2-7 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock
100% secure payments

By buying this product you can collect up to 2 points. Your cart will total 2 points that can be converted into a voucher of €0.50.

Safe Payments

To celebrate the 60th anniversary of one of the most important neo-realist movies ever filmed in Italy, Quartet Records proudly presents ROCCO E I SUOI FRATELLI (ROCCO AND HIS BROTHERS), a 2-CD set featuring for the first time the complete original score of the landmark collaboration between Luchino Visconti and Nino Rota.

The film finds the young Rocco (Alain Delon), his mother and three siblings moving from the South to Milan, hoping to reunite the family with the eldest brother. However, diverging life goals as well as the appearance of a prostitute (Annie Girardot) cause a jealous rift between the siblings and inevitably lead to the family falling apart.

Following an operatic scheme, the music of ROCCO E I SUOI FRATELLI is one of the most radiantly beautiful scores composed by Rota, and one of his great dramatic classics, singled out by Francis Ford Coppola as one of the main reasons he hired Nino Rota to score THE GODFATHER. The low-key, sultry jazz score manages to depict Milan as a city of endless possibilities as well as cruel realities.

This 2-CD release contains the expanded score presentation on Disc 1 and the remastered original LP program plus unused alternates on Disc 2, all restored and mastered by Chris Malone from first-generation master tapes courtesy of Gruppo Sugar. The 20-page booklet includes liner notes by Gergely Hubai that discuss the film and the score in detail.

DISC ONE: Score Presentation
1. Titoli (2:36)
2. Uscita dalla stazione e tram (1:09)
3. Festa fidanzamento Vincenzo (F. Montagnini, Arr. Rota) (3:33)
4. Dialogo Vincenzo – Vecchio (0:58)
5. Levata mattutina famiglia (Valzer Paesano) (2:47)
6. Standa (1:42)
7. Nadia guarda ritratti figli Parondi (0:50)
8. Incontro di Simone con Nadia dopo combattimento (0:55)
9. Nadia e Simone sul letto (2:21)
10. Furti di Simone / Rocco nel ufficio di Cerri (1:06)
11. Valzer Bellagio (3:07)
12. Simone adocchia il gioiello / Nadia e Rocco in automobile (0:46)
13. Dialogo Simone – Rocco (2:01)
14. Lettera della madre (1:07)
15. Nadia e Rocco seduti al caffé (1:44)
16. Rocco va al battesimo (0:49)
17. Nadia e Rocco sul tram (0:57)
18. La gelosia di Simone (1:55)
19. La vendetta di Simone (2:19)
20. Rocco singhiozza mentre Nadia fugge piangendo (1:25)
21. Rocco e Nadia sul luogo (2:18)
22. Casinò (5:08)
23. Ciro e Rocco (0:45)
24. Sfogo della madre con Ciro (1:38)
25. Ciro e Rocco sul ponticello / Simone manda Luca da Duilio (2:08)
26. Casa Duilio (4:27)
27. Rocco e Duilio parlano con Cerri al telefono (1:35)
28. Ciro da i soldi a Simone (2:19)
29. Addio di Simone (0:44)
30. Delitto (2:00)
31. Festa in Casa Parondi (L’Indeciso) (F. Montagnini, Arr. Rota) (5:54)
32. Brindisi e discorso di Rocco (1:39)
33. Simone confessa il delitto a Rocco (2:11)
34. Ciro sta per denunciare Simone (1:05)
35. La morale di Ciro a Luca (1:45)
36. Finale (1:06)

DISC TWO: The 1960 Soundtrack Album
1. Introduzione – Paese Mio (2:36)
2. Terra lontana (2:48)
3. Milano e Nadia (3:51)
4. Valzer ai laghi (2:39)
5. L’amore di Rocco (1:42)
6. La gelosia di Simone (3:30)
7. Addio di Nadia (2:17)
8. Come tu vuoi (3:57)
9. L’Amore dei due fratelli (3:42)
10. Delitto di Simone (2:01)
11. Paese Mio (instrumental version) (1:47)
12. Ritorno di Simone (2:09)
13. Terra lontana (1:45)
14. Paese Mio (0:54)
15. La loro storia (1:07)

Bonus tracks:
16. Furti di Simone (alternate) (0:35)
17. Dialogo Simone-Rocco (alternate) (2:12)
18. Lettera della madre (alternate) (1:09)
19. Rocco va al battesimo (alternate) (0:39)
20. Simone manda Luca da Duilio (versione breve) (0:39)
21. La morale di Ciro a Luca (alternate) (2:11)
22. Paese Mio (unreleased album version) (2:30)

You might also like