chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Gerald Fried

Caldera Records

€16.95 (tax incl.) €14.13 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
check In Stock. Only 2 left in stock
Safe Payments

Caldera Records is proud to present the original score for the motion picture “One Potato, Two Potato” from 1964, directed by Larry Peerce, featuring music by Gerald Fried.
Peerce’s film, one of the first to discuss an interracial relationship openly in cinema, tells the story of a young single-mother named Julie (played by Barbara Barrie) who cares for her daughter all by herself after her husband abandoned her. Struggling with everyday life, she strikes up a friendship with Frank (Bernie Hamilton) who seems supportive and kind, giving Julie a respite from the nastiness she’s had to endure. It doesn’t take long for the two of them to fall in love. Although Julie and Frank are aware of the problems they are likely going to face as an interracial couple in the 60s, they decide to marry. Society, however, does not wish to grant them their happiness.
Surprising for an independent film without any major studio backing, “One Potato, Two Potato” scored an Oscar nomination for its screenplay.
As beloved as his music for both “Star Trek” and “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.” is, composer Gerald Fried considers “One Potato, Two Potato” one of his best works. It is a score which is dear to his heart, not least because the film tackles a subject that the composer felt strongly about. The memorable main theme makes several appearances throughout the album, at times playful and jaunty, at other times tense and introspective. As a contrast, Fried developed a sorrowful and yet warm lament as accompaniment for both Julie and Frank who try to overcome the various prejudices and other hurdles society presents them with. While there are several other motifs and themes in the score, the nursery rhyme serves as the backbone of the whole composition.
The 36th CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet-text by Stephan Eicke and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was produced by Stephan Eicke and John Elborg.

1. One Potato, Two Potato (2:52)
2. Spotlight/How Many Times (2:05)
3. Love’s Old Sweet Song/How Many Times (2:17)
4. Hopscotch (1:53)
5. One Potato, Two Potato/How Many Times (2:16)
6. Outcasts (1:19)
7. We’re the Same (1:25)
8. The Marriage (1:00)
9. Cold Reception (1:11)
10. Not for Fools/One Potato, Two Potato (1:46)
11. Shooting Games (1:56)
12. Show-Down Hoe-Down (1:01)
13. Turmoil (1:41)
14. Help (1:08)
15. Attempted Rape (1:45)
16. Frustration (1:44)
17. Honor and Protect (1:15)
18. How Many Times/Alone With a Memory (2:43)
19. The Judge (3:01)
20. The Decision/Sorrow (3:22)
21. Departure (1:35)
22. One Potato, Two Potato (2:11)
23. One Potato, Two Potato (Vocal) (2:14)
(Performed by Alan Arkin with The Frieds, Daniel, Debbie, Jonathon & Josh)

24. Audio Commentary by Gerald Fried (6:53)

You might also like