chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by James Horner

Intrada - Limited Collector's Edition

€32.95 (tax incl.) €27.46 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock
100% secure payments
Safe Payments

World premiere expanded CD of James Horner soundtrack from popular Ron Howard sci-fi/fantasy with legendary cast of veterans including Don Ameche, Wilford Brimley, Hume Cronyn, Jack Gilford, Maureen Stapleton, Jessica Tandy plus Brian Dennehy, Steve Guttenberg, Tahnee Welch. Group of aging friends share life together in rest home, experience fear, fun, love, loss and collectively find mysterious alien pods in the poolhouse carry secrets of a price. James Horner fashions one of his earliest blockbusters, showcases numerous signature ideas that will grace his work for decades. Magnificent score was also one of first to appear on CD in 1985 (Polydor label), adding luster to project. Horner provides numerous highlights, with spotlights shining in four directions: incredibly warm, transparent love themes, vibrant big band-era pieces for three aged best friends, incredible action cues, powerhouse climactic themes for what lies beyond. Latter music represents some of composer's most inspired writing of all time with two side-by-side action sequences "David Runs To Boat", "The Chase" both building on primary thematic material, culminating in "The Ascension" a massive, emotional tour-de-force! Special mention is due Horner's inspired climax that crescendos in magnificent musical peroration, then recedes with descending series of whole-tone chords to cadence on gently beautiful, final major chord. And true to composer's nature, end credit music ("Theme From Cocoon") is masterful, fully realized composition unlike most of today's customary "cut-and-paste" editorial cues. It is rare that composer's are given opportunities to write hour-long film scores with the luxuries of genuine musical architecture, introducing multiple ideas, developing them, bringing in new themes, parting with earlier ones, gaining momentum, stirring up the musical pot then finally leading everything towards truly magnificent finish. James Horner takes that opportunity, delivers the goods! Entire score newly mastered by Mike Matessino, with significant improvements in stereo image, clarity courtesy multi-track masters housed at 20th Century Fox. Entire production courtesy Fox and Universal Music Group. Additional source cues plus Michael Sembello's "Gravity" appear at end of CD as extras. Authoritative oversight by Nick Redman, informative liner notes by Julie Kirgo plus session photos of composer wrap up entire album with colorful bow. James Horner conducts.

01. Through The Window (2:58)
02. Going To The Pool (1:55)
03. Pool Is Closed (2:10)
04. Mysterious Dive (1:54)
05. Seduction/Let's Go (2:10)
06. Unveiling (1:05)
07. Discovered In The Poolhouse (2:47)
08. A Relapse (1:27)
09. The Lovemaking (4:24)
10. First Tears (1:51)
11. Rose's Death (2:14)
12. Returning To Sea (4:16)
13. Sad Goodbye (2:15)
14. Sneaking Away (3:15)
15. David Runs To The Boat (1:53)
16. The Chase (4:30)
17. The Ascension (6:01)
18. Theme From Cocoon (6:05)
19. The Boys Are Out (2:37)
20. I Feel Great (1:05)
21. Rock Source (1:13)
22. Gravity (4:00)