chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Fiorenzo Carpi

Music Box Records - Limited Edition of 300 units • Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

New remastered and expanded edition.
45 minutes of music, including 28 minutes of music never released before.
8-page CD booklet with liner notes by Gergely Hubai.

In collaboration with Gruppo Sugar, Music Box Records presents the premiere release of composer Fiorenzo Carpi’s expanded score to the 1966 drama film Incompreso (Vita col figlio) (1966), directed by Luigi Comencini (Le avventure di Pinocchio, L’Ingorgo).

Based on Florence Montgomery's bestselling novel Misunderstood, the film tells the story of two children who must cope with grief following the death of their mother. Their father (Anthony Quayle), the British consul to Florence, is too busy to pay enough attention to them and by the time he learns the importance of family, it may be too late.

The main goal of Fiorenzo Carpi's score is to fill in for the absent mother with a theme derived from Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23. The composer’s construction of improvising and deriving new cues from Mozart’s piano solo makes it possible to signify the loss of the mother through cues that range from the elder son's melancholic rite of passage to to the younger brother's childish horseplay that leads to tragedy. One-off cues include the Victorian style opening credits, a stripped-down percussion cue for the son's judo training and a fun source cue played in a radio shop.

Incompreso (Vita col figlio) had only moderate soundtrack releases timed to the movies premiere. CAM released a 45RPM single with a theme from the film while a few cues from the score have been previously released on the 2005 compilation album Fiorenzo Carpi, Ritratto Di Un Autore. This time the whole score is presented, including alternates and unused cues. 8-page liner notes by Gergely Hubai discuss the film and the score. Limited Edition of 300 units.


1. Musica vittoriana (1:52)
2. Solitudine (1:56)
3. Incompreso (Arrivederci) (1:22)
4. Incompreso (Joplinesque) (2:17)
5. Incompreso (Cattivo tempismo) (1:36)
6. Incompreso (Judo) (1:37)
7. In giardino (1:03)
8. Incompreso (Minuscola fuga) (0:56)
9. Nascondino (1:47)
10. Incompreso (La tempesta) (1:06)
11. Incompreso (Il lago) (1:07)
12. Passeggiata nel parco (3:03)
13. Incompreso (In bici) (2:02)
14. Incompreso (Il regalo) (1:03)
15. Incompreso (Da solo) (0:40)
16. Incompreso (Samba) (1:30)
17. Incompreso (La cassetta) (0:46)
18. Incompreso (Consolato) (0:49)
19. Incompreso (L'auto nera) (1:20)
20. Incompreso (Autolavaggio) (1:33)
21. Incompreso (Guida in Firenze) (1:07)
22. Incompreso (Figure di carta) (0:27)
23. Incompreso (Sotto la tenda) (1:37)
24. La madre (1:21)
25. Incompreso (Arrivederci #2) (1:31)
26. Incompreso (Infusione) (1:02)
27. Incompreso (Lettura finale) (0:46)
28. Incompreso (Finale) (0:40)
29. Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major K.488 - Adagio (6:23)
Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Total Time • 45:31

You might also like