The Outsiders
chevron_left chevron_right


Composed by Carmine COPPOLA

Music Box Records - Limited 30th Anniversary Collector's Edition of 1000 copies • Sold Out

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Safe Payments

55 minutes of music, including the title song Stay Gold by Stevie Wonder. 
A full-color 24-page CD booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger and Francis Ford Coppola's statement.

Music Box Records and American Zoetrope present the remastered and expanded release of acclaimed composer Carmine Coppola's (The Black Stallion, The Godfather: Part II & III) full-scale orchestral score to the 1983 drama film classic The Outsiders, starring C. Thomas Howell, Matt Dillon, Ralph Macchio, Patrick Swayze, Rob Lowe, Diane Lane, Emilio Estevez, Tom Cruise and Leif Garrett, based on S. E. Hinton’s novel and directed by Francis Ford Coppola (Apocalypse Now, Rumble Fish and The Godfather Trilogy).

The Outsiders tells the story of the ongoing conflict between two "clans" (the Socs and the Greasers) in 60s-era Tulsa, Oklahoma. Its universal power has continued to hold sway for new, misunderstood generations who hear a far bigger picture as they attempt to find their way in an often-cruel world.

For those with a passion for old school scoring, this remastered 30th anniversary edition of Carmine Coppola’s score for The Outsiders now sings with new orchestral power. Francis Ford Coppola wanted the score to have a similarly epic scope, music that would recall the unabashed orchestral passion that Max Steiner and Leonard Rosenman gave to the films he was modeling The Outsiders on. The dramatic orchestral score highlights Coppola’s allusions in his film to another famous epic, Gone With the Wind, the novel of which figures prominently in the film’s story.

The previous version was released on Silva Screen Records in 1989. Music Box Records presents the definitive version, including new material (alternate and unreleased cues) and the very sought-after memorable title song Stay Gold written by Carmine Coppola and performed by the legendary singer and lyricist Stevie Wonder.

This new album presentation has been supervised by Francis Ford Coppola and assembled from the 2" 24-track session masters stored in American Zoetrope vaults. Newly mixed, edited and expanded to Coppola’s original, musically lavish intentions by sound designer Richard Beggs (Francis Ford Coppola's long-time collaborator), the score of The Outsiders proves itself even more vital in making Coppola’s "epic story for children" into iconic, star-making youth cinema. This would be the first, and lasting musical impression of teen angst as the stuff of grand, emotional opera, fueled by an elder statesman composer who’d lived an artistic life on the edge since his own youth.

This deluxe edition with O-Card includes a 24-page full-color booklet with liner notes by Daniel Schweiger and Francis Ford Coppola's statement.


1. Stay Gold* (03:29)
performed by Stevie Wonder
2. Fate Theme (02:30)
3. Country Suite** (04:57)
4. Cherry Says Goodbye** (02:21)
5. Incidental Music 1 (02:45)
6. Fight in the Park (03:25)
7. Bob is Dead (03:32)

8. Deserted Church Suite** (04:14)
9. Sunrise** (02:56)
10. Fire at the Church (02:49)
11. Incidental Music 2* (03:11)
12. Rumble Variation / Dallas' Death** (04:54)
13. Brothers Together* (02:27)

14. Rumble** (04:37)
15. Stay Gold (Alternate)* (02:30)
performed by Stevie Wonder
16. The Outside In (02:41)
performed by Bill Hughes
17. Stay Gold (02:28)
performed by Bill Hughes 

* Previously unreleased
** Contains previously unreleased music
Total Time • 55:02