chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Laurence Rosenthal / Brussels Philharmonic Conducted by Dirk Brossé

Silva Screen - Digipack

€16.95 (tax incl.) €14.13 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock
Safe Payments

Among all composer-centred albums that have been produced at Film Fest Gent over the past twenty years, this new recording of music by Laurence Rosenthal is certainly unique in the festival’s history, in that it celebrates a composer who was already writing classic film scores during an era that has become known as the silver age of film music. While the oldest music on previous albums dates back to the early 1980s, some of the scores presented here were composed in the early 1960s – a full decade earlier than the first edition of Film Fest Gent itself, which this year celebrates its 50th anniversary. 

This felicitous release features all-new studio recordings of selected scores by this American composer, one of the giants of film, television and theatre music, who has been on the festival’s music programming wish list for years. Laurence Rosenthal’s career in film and television composition, which began in the 1950s, spans no less than six decades. To one generation of filmgoers the composer is known for his scores to acclaimed 1960s films such as The Miracle Worker and Becket, to another generation for his scores to late 1970s/early 1980s genre films such as The Island of Dr Moreau and Clash of the Titans, to television viewers of the 1980s for his scores to a variety of miniseries such as Anastasia: The Mystery of Anna and The Bourne Identity, and finally to both old and new generations for his theme and scores for The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles.

“To have maestro Dirk Brossé and the Brussels Philharmonic now bringing new life to these selected scores is a very special privilege for me, for which I am so thankful”. -


1 The Return of a Man Called Horse Suite I. The Great Plains / II. Training for War / III. The Buffalo Hunt / IV. The Great Plains (Reprise)

2 The Miracle Worker Suite I. Prologue: Helen Alone / II. First Meeting / III. The Miracle at the Pump

3 Michelangelo: The Last Giant Suite I. David / II. San Pietro

4 Brass Target - Mara

5 Billy the Kid - Main Title

6 Clash of the Titans Suite I. Flight to Mount Olympus / II. The Lovers / III. Joppa

7 Fantasy Island - Theme

8 Mussolini: The Untold Story Suite I. Echoes of Rome: Ave Caesar! / II. Claretta: Chat by the Window / III. The Family

9 Anastasia: The Mystery of Anna - Berlin Bridge

10 Requiem for a Heavyweight - Main Title (Revised Version)

11 Meteor Suite I. End Credits / II. Dubov’s Rage

12 A Raisin in the Sun - Today, He Came into His Manhood

13 The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles - Theme

14 The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles: “Ireland, April 1916” - Welcome to Ireland

15 Young Indiana Jones and the Hollywood Follies Suite I. Welcome to Hollywood / II. Sunset / III. Runaway Wagon

16 Becket Suite I. Prologue and Arrival of the King at Canterbury / II. Triumph in France / III. Epilogue

You might also like