chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Jerry Goldsmith

Quartet Records - Limited Edition of 2000 copies


€23.95 (tax incl.) €19.96 (tax excl.)
Tax included Estimated Delivery 1-5 days (France) and 2-10 days (Europe + Rest of the World) depending on carrier
notifications_active Last items in stock. Only 1 left in stock

By buying this product you can collect up to 2 points. Your cart will total 2 points that can be converted into a voucher of €0.50.

Safe Payments

Quartet Records and Studiocanal present a straight reissue of the 2-CD set of Jerry Goldsmith’s Academy Award® nominated noir score for Paul Verhoeven’s classic erotic thriller BASIC INSTICT (1992), starring Michael Douglas and Sharon Stone.

For his second collaboration with director Paul Verhoeven (after TOTAL RECALL) Jerry Goldsmith composed one of his most famous and iconic scores—atmospheric and sensual, elegantly orchestrated, with a memorable main theme reminiscent of Bernard Herrmann.

At the time of the film’s premiere, Varèse Sarabande issued a 45-minute CD produced by Goldsmith himself—a great presentation of the score’s highlights. Ten years later, Prometheus Records released an expanded version, with much of the music presented in film order, but still missing a pivotal moment and several alternate takes. This release includes all the music recorded for the film, with correct edits, original cue titles, “An Unending Story” as heard in the film, and alternate takes recorded by Goldsmith for the shorter R-rated version of the film. Also included is the original album produced by the composer, featuring some slightly shorter cues and an alternate ending. The music was recorded in London with Jerry Goldsmith conducting The National Philharmonic Orchestra.

Both the film score and the original album have been entirely remixed and remastered from the original digital multi-track tapes by original scoring mixer Bruce Botnick. Produced by Neil S. Bulk and Botnick, the album includes in-depth liner notes from film music writer Daniel Schweiger in a lavishly newly designed 20-page full-color booklet.

1. Main Title / The First Victim (3:45)
2. Catherine and Roxy (5:17)
3. Shadows / Profile (1:30)
4. I Don’t Smoke (2:48)
5. Crossed Legs (4:53)
6. Beth and Nick (2:24)
7. Night Life (6:04)
8. Home Visit (1:12)
9. Your Wife Knew (1:48)
10. What’s Between You? (0:55)
11. One Shot (1:28)
12. Kitchen Help (4:02)
13. Pillow Talk (5:04)
14. Morning After (2:32)
15. Roxy Loses (3:39)
16. Catherine’s Sorrow (2:44)
17. Wrong Name (2:24)
18. She’s Really Sick (1:33)
19. It Won’t Sell (1:06)
20. The Games Are Over (5:53)
21. Evidence (1:44)
22. An Unending Story / End Titles (9:08)

1. Main Title (Theme from Basic Instinct) (2:15)
2. Crossed Legs (4:53)
3. Night Life (6:04)
4. Kitchen Help (3:59)
5. Pillow Talk (5:01)
6. Morning After (2:31)
7. The Games Are Over (5:39)
8. Catherine’s Sorrow (2:43)
9. Roxy Loses (3:18)
10. An Unending Story (7:58)

Bonus Tracks
11. The First Victim (R rated alternate) (1:37)
12. Beth and Nick (R rated alternate) (2:13)
13. Pillow Talk (R rated alternate) (4:51)
14. That’s Real Music (0:27)

You might also like