chevron_left chevron_right


Musique de Henry Mancini

Quartet Records - Édition limitée à 1000 exemplaires

35,00 € TTC 35,00 € (HT)
TTC Livraison sous 1 à 5 jours ouvrés (France) et 2 à 10 jours (Europe + reste du Monde) selon le transporteur
notifications_active Derniers articles en stock. Il ne reste plus que 1 exemplaire(s) en stock
Paiements 100% sécurisés

En achetant ce produit vous pouvez obtenir 3 points. Votre panier vous rapportera 3 points qui peuvent être converti en un bon de réduction de 0,75 €.

favorite Ajouter à ma liste d'envies

Vous devez être connecté à votre compte client
Paiement sécurisé


ÉTAT CD : Très bon  

ÉTAT LIVRET : Très bon

Quartet Records and Universal Music Group present the premiere CD release of the nostalgic, Cajun-inflected country score composed by Henry Mancini (Touch of Evil, The Great Race, The Great Waldo Pepper, 10) for Paul Newman’s intimate drama about an Oregon family of gyppo loggers who cut and procure trees for a local mill in opposition to striking, unionized workers. The film stars Newman, Henry Fonda, Lee Remick, Richard Jaeckel and Michael Sarrazin.

Sometimes a Great Notion was the first collaboration between Paul Newman and Henry Mancini. The two friends would work together on three more films (The Shadow Box, Harry & Son and The Glass Menagerie). A common factor among all scores Mancini wrote for Newman was the actor/director’s preference for different musical styles (jazz, country, blues) that were far from conventional underscore. Country-western and Cajun are the main sounds explored by Mancini in this score, including the beautiful ballad "All His Children" (with lyrics by Alan and Marilyn Bergman), performed by Charley Pride.

This CD contains the album prepared by Mancini for MCA in 1971, which includes almost all the score recorded for the film (only one 90-second cue was omitted). Sadly, no master tapes have surfaced from any previous source, including the MCA vaults. Audio was carefully restored and mastered by Chris Malone from virgin copies of the vinyl release, courtesy UMG; the 12-page full-color package includes detailed liner notes by John Takis and an essay written by producer John Foreman for the original LP.

01. All his Children (2:00)
02. High on the Pegs (2:58)
03. A Lonely Man’s Song (3:09)
04. Lumber-Jack Blues (2:04)
05. Lee (3:14)
06. Happy Time (1:53)
07. Rollin’ On (3:23)
08. Green Tree Brass (2:23)
09. The Stamper Rag (1:13)
10. Evenin’ (2:18)
11. Jobie (1:58)
12. Tiny Tug Toot (4:12)
13. All his Children (Reprise) (1:30)
Total Disc Time: 32:15

Limited Collector’s Edition of 1000 units.