Boutique CD



Musique de Michael Gore

Quartet Records - Édition limitée à 1500 exemplaires

2 CDs

Plus de détails



Disponibilité : En stock

16,63 €

En achetant ce produit vous pouvez gagner jusqu'à 1 point de fidélité. Votre panier totalisera 1 point pouvant être transformé(s) en un bon de réduction de 0,10 €.

Quartet Records is proud to present the premiere release of complete score by Michael Gore (Fame, Deserving Your Life, Pretty in Pink) for the deeply moving drama Terms of Endearment, a true Hollywood classic from the eighties, directed by James L. Brooks and starring Shirley McLaine, Debra Winger, Jack Nicholson, Jeff Daniels, John Lithgow and Danny DeVito.

The film won five Academy Awards in 1984 (including Best Picture and Best Director; Shirley McLaine and Jack Nicholson also won for their magnificent performances), and was nominated for another six (including Michael Gore’s original score)

The movie covers several years in the life of Aurora and Emma, a mother and daughter who march to different drummers. Beginning with Emma’s marriage, Aurora shows how difficult and loving she can be; each finds different reasons to go on living and find joy. Aurora’s interludes with Garrett Breedlove, retired astronaut and next-door neighbor are quite striking. In the end, different people show their love in very different ways.

Michael Gore, who had won two Oscars in 1980 for Alan Parker’s Fame (Best Original Score and Best Original Song), wrote a bittersweet score dominated by a memorable main theme that mixes love, drama and a kind of joie de vivre. Richard Hazard orchestrated and conducted the entire score, which became an eighties film music classic.

The soundtrack album of Terms of Endearment was released by Capitol Records in 1983, and reissued on compact disc in 1986. The program included a portion of Michael Gore’s score (specially edited for the album and mixed with film dialogue) and many songs heard in the movie. Our 2-CD set presentation includes on disc one the complete score with every cue written by Gore for the movie, presented in film order (including several alternate versions), and the Richard Hazard recordings of song standards not included in the final print of the movie (replaced – in some cases – by the original versions). On disc two we offer a newly remastered version of the original Capitol album, which has been out of print for years. Its concept – and the inclusion of the original songs – makes it an important souvenir of the film.

Mastered from original 3-track film masters (courtesy of Paramount Pictures) and the original album master (courtesy of UMG), the package includes a 16-page full color booklet with liner notes by John Takis.

01. Main Title (3:14)
02. Say Goodbye / Listen to Her (1:06)
03. Flap and Emma (0:44)
04. Eavesdropping / I’ll Miss You, Momma (2:23)
05. You Wanna Have Lunch? (1:02)
06. You’re Saving Our Lives (0:35)
07. Three Scenes From a Marriage (Part 1) (1:16)
08. Aurora’s Night Music / Why Not? (1:33)
09. All You Had to Do Was Ask (1:07)
10. You Bring Out the Devil in Me (1:09)
11. The Renoir Is in the Bedroom (0:59)
12. He Ran It / Nebraska (1:33)
13. This Is My Moment (1:54)
14. Homecoming (1:22)
15. Lights Out / Three Scenes From a Marriage (Part 2) (1:15)
16. Three Scenes From a Marriage (Part 3) (1:23)
17. The Gazebo (1:24)
18. Sam’s Goodbye / New York Overture (0:54)
19. Gorgeous Isn’t Everything (1:26)
20. The Pleasure Dome (1:54)
21. The Last Look (1:40)
22. The Wake (1:47)
23. End Credits (2:55)
24. Theme From “Terms of Endearment” (Album Version) (3:32)
25. I’ll Miss You, Momma (Alternate) (1:33)
26. All You Had to Do Was Ask (Alternate) (0:51)
27. He Ran It / Nebraska (Alternate) (1:05)
28. The Last Look (Alternate) (1:41)
29. End Credits (Alternate) (2:24)
30. Trailer (4:28)
31. Gee, Officer Krupke (1:59)
32. One (3:29)
33. Speak Softly Love (3:23)
34. Isn’t It Romantic? (2:40)
35. Stella by Starlight (2:30)
36. Another Hundred People (3:56)
Total Disc Time: 67:44

01. Main Titles (3:43)
02. Anything Goes (2:01)
03. Flap and Emma (0:45)
04. Gee, Officer Krupke (3:21)
05. Emma’s Theme (0:43)
06. Aurora’s Night Music (1:36)
07. I’ll Miss You, Momma (2:31)
08. This Is My Moment (2:30)
09. Theme From “Terms of Endearment” (3:30)
10. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody (3:08)
11. Three Scenes From a Marriage (3:30)
12. The Pleasure Dome (2:26)
13. The Last Look (2:01)
14. The Wake (1:46)
15. End Credits (3:10)
Total Disc Two Time: 37:11

    Les clients qui ont acheté ce produit ont également acheté...

    Boutique CD