Music Composed by Johan Söderqvist

Quartet Records - Limited Edition of 500 units

More details

Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.

14,96 €

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of 0,25 €.

Add to wishlist

Data sheet


More info

Quartet Records and MovieScore Media presents the soundtrack album of The King's Choice, Erik Poppe's historical drama about Norway's involvement in World War II. Norway's official submission for 'Best Foreign Language Film' features Jesper Christensen (recently seen as Mr. White in the James Bond movies) as King Haakon VII.
On the 9th of April 1940, the German war machine arrives into the fjords of Oslo with the warship Blücher. Norwegian monarch King Haakon VII faces a choice that will change his country forever. While the German invaders strongly advise the King to nominate Norwegian Fascist-leader Vidkun Quisling as the prime minister, the king together with his government makes a brave choice.
Johan Söderqvist builds his film on a handful of memorable themes. One of the key ideas is urgency - since the events take place in only three days, the sense of urgency is represented by a ticking clock effect. The dark shadow of fascism looms over with a theme written for low-register brass,electronics and low drums. Finally, there's of course the theme for the king rounding out the album. The package includes liner notes by Gergely Hubai discuss the film and the score.

01. The King’s Choice (3:55)
02. The Fortress (2:21)
03. Blücher (2:36)
04. Golgata / Father and Son (5:49)
05. Leaving the Castle (3:29)
06. Quisling’s Speech (3:51)
07. Midtskogen (5:44)
08. The Farewell (1:15)
09. The Burning Barn (1:41)
10. The King’s Speech (3:27)
11. The Final Escape (6:01)

Limited Collector’s Edition of 500 units.