CD Soundtracks Store



Music Composed by Anton Garcia Abril

Rosetta Records

More details



Availability: Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.

14,96 €

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 loyalty point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of 0,10 €.

Monsignor Quixote is based on the homonymous work by English writer Graham Greene. His text tells, in its own way, the immortal chevalier’s moving adventures.  e book recreates the illustrious character’s adventures through a backwards and Man- chegan Spain, showcasing history’s silent voices. Father Quijote, a former communist mayor, native from Toboso; Enrique Zancas; and a Rocinante with rubber soles in- stead of horseshoes strike up an unique relationship, a cloudy reminder of the irrecon- cilable positions between Marxism and a festive or tambourine Catholicism. But this peculiar relationship evolves into a surprising friendship, based on Faith and Love, and creating the miracle of Mutual Understanding. To speak about Antón García Abril is to speak about one of the most important and in uential contemporary musicians in the last decades. Monsignor Quixote is but the tip of the iceberg, a colossal exercise on musical imagination, drawing the lines upon which this atypical story wanders. Monsignor Quixote’s score is more descriptive than rational; more situation bound than intention bound.  at’s why we don’t  nd in it a proper musical genealogy de n- ing the characters, apart from Rocinante’s leitmotiv, a playful melody charged with nostalgia, riding on the back of an old Seat car. Wind and strings trot through the space, recalling the all-time most famous nag’s steps.  e score organises itself around two great melodies.  e  rst one describes the feelings inspired by the Toboso-Streets of Toboso-, a place of eternal love, poetry and sleepless nights, whose streets are in- habited by nostalgia and the feeling of a soulful land. Clarinets and oboes strike up a delicate dialogue, tranquil and unhurried, which sweetly seduces the strings, the story’s grand protagonist, to modulate a melody whose texture vaguely reminds Maes- tro Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez. Antón will use this leitmotiv again - oughts of a distant friend-End Titles- to express with unbelievable intensity the friendship between the two main characters. Nobleman and squire re-live Don Quixote’s and Sancho’s adventures through the arpeggios and scales springing up from the depths of the orchestra.  e second one, “ e Jewel of the Crown”, is the piece’s main leitmotiv- Main Titles-, an exquisite melody cleverly resolved by the author using classical guitar, the most Spanish of instruments, and exceptional witness of a land of legend. It’s a descriptive piece, putting into context History beyond the present time... Its melody places us riding on a hack ́s back through the lands of La Mancha.

01. Monsignor Quixote (3:10)
02. Rocinante (2:25)
03. Streets of Toboso (4:04)
04. Twilight in La Mancha (4:44)
05. Compañeros (3:40)
06. Windmills or Giants? (3:29)
07. Let me Feel Temptation ((5:01)
08. Dulcinea (4:59)
09. Adventures in the Mind (3:39)
10. “In a Certain Village...” (3:51)
11.  oughts of a Distant Friend (3:55)

CD Soundtracks Store