L'AMANT (THE LOVER) View larger




Music Composed by Gabriel Yared

Music Box Records - Limited Edition • Sold Out

More details

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of 0,25 €.

Add to wishlist

Data sheet


More info

New remastered and expanded edition.
62 minutes of music, including 20 minutes of music never released before.
8-page CD booklet with liner notes by Sylvain Pfeffer.

In collaboration with Pathé Production, Music Box Records presents the remastered and expanded 25th anniversary edition of Gabriel Yared’s score to the 1992 drama film L'Amant (The Lover), starring Jane March and Tony Leung, and directed by Jean-Jacques Annaud (The Name of the Rose, Wolf Totem).

Published in 1984, L'Amant was one of the biggest literary successes of Marguerite Duras. Released on January 22, 1992, the film adaptation was a box office success in France, becoming the seventh-highest-grossing film of the year. It was nominated for the 1992 Academy Award for Best Cinematography. At the 1993 César Awards in France, it was nominated for seven awards, winning in the category of "Best music written for a film" for Gabriel Yared's score.

The timeless score swings between delicately sensual pieces and more abrupt compositions. It evokes two aspects of the girl’s universe: her carnal desire, and the unsettling discovery of her sexuality. The main theme is used in various arrangements all through the movie, mainly played by strings, a solo clarinet and with very delicately-played piano notes. Gabriel Yared also wrote the source music of the film.

L'Amant was issued on CD around the time of the film’s release, it included 42 minutes of music organized into 16 tracks. The current release has been fully remastered from the recording session tapes and adds about 20 minutes of brand new material organized into 24 tracks. The sound has been also greatly improved.  The 8-page booklet by Sylvain Pfeffer discusses the film and the score based on an original interview with the composer and the director.

1. Ce Jour-là sur le Mékong (Générique Début) (2:56)
2. Un Baiser sur la Vitre (1:46)
3. Blue Zoon (2:47)
4. La Traversée du Fleuve (1:23)
5. Promenade en Limousine (3:36)
6. Un Pas d'One Step (2:11)
7. Caresses (1:14)
8. Habanera (1:48)
9. Les Soucis (2:27)
10. Le Paso d'Hélène (2:40)
11. Retour à Sadec (0:55)
12. Blue Zoon (Piano) (3:15)
13. L'Homme de Cholon (2:58)
14. Hélène au Pensionnat (0:29)
15. Valse à l'Étage (2:43)
16. Promenade en Limousine (2e version) (1:26)
17. Les Barrages (3:19)
18. Nocturne (4:23)
19. Foxtrot Dance (2:29)
20. Le Départ (3:52)
21. Valse Opus 69, N°2 (Frédéric Chopin) (2:32)
22. L'Amant (Générique Fin) (3:16)

23. Variation Libre sur le Chant des Boys (2:22)
24. Nocturne (4:23)

Total Time • 62:09