chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Ken Thorne

Quartet Records

€14.96 (tax incl.) €14.96 (tax excl.)
notifications_active Last items in stock

By buying this product you can collect up to 1 point. Your cart will total 1 point that can be converted into a voucher of €0.25.

Quartet Records and Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer present the premiere release of the exciting and classy score composed by Ken Thorne (A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Superman II, Juggernaut, Inspector Clouseau) for this not-well-known adventure-comedy production directed by John Huston in 1969. Sinful Davey, the saga of an early nineteenth-century Scottish rogue, starred John Hurt, Pamela Franklin, Fionnula Flanagan, Anjelica Huston and Robert Morley.
The film was initially scored by John Barry, but the filmmakers considered his music “too bittersweet.” His score was ultimately replaced by a completely new effort by Ken Thorne, who provide an approach closer to adventure and romance films, handled in a sublime British symphonic style.
The soundtrack album for Sinful Davey was announced by United Artists Records, but due to the film’s failure at the box office the release was canceled. Only a promotional single with the original song (performed by Ester Ofarim, with lyrics by Don Black) and the Love Theme was released. Fortunately, the stereo tapes with the album concept done by Thorne (with almost the complete score) has been preserved in very good conditions at the MGM vaults.
The lavishly designed, 16-page full-color booklet includes liner notes by Daniel Schweiger.

01. Sinful Davey* (2:24)
02. The Market Square (3:30)
03. The Cairn (3:16)
04. Jock’s Lane (1:49)
05. The Pirates (5:01)
06. Davey and Annie (2:20)
07. Billy the Goat (1:17)
08. In the Doctor’s Lab (3:41)
09. The Hunt (3:57)
10. The Hangman (1:28)
11. Sinful Davey (Finale)* (1:46)
Total Disc Time: 31:05
*Music by Ken Thorne
Lyrics by Don Black
Vocal: Ester Ofarim