chevron_left chevron_right


Music Composed by Nicolas Errèra

Soundtrack Magazine 

€24.95 (tax incl.) €20.79 (tax excl.)
Tax included
block Out-of-Stock

By buying this product you can collect up to 2 points. Your cart will total 2 points that can be converted into a voucher of €0.50.

Safe Payments

Soundtrack Magazine proudly presents a limited edition, world-premiere CD release of acclaimed French composer by the French composer Nicolas Errèra and the director JIANG Wen’s original motion picture soundtrack for China’s official entry to the 91st Academy Awards HIDDEN MAN.

Adapted from Zhang Beihai’s novel Xia Yin (“The Reclusive Hero”), the film shares Jiang Wen’s signature style of absurdism and dark humor. It seriocomically tells a romantic revenge story that took place on the brink of the Second Sino-Japanese War. It’s also the final installment of Jiang’s action trilogy after 2010’s “Let the Bullets Fly” and 2014’s “Gone with the Bullets”. For the score, he invited Nicolas Errèra who had been active in Chinese-language films for almost a decade. Errèra's music for the film not only utilizes his skillful melody-writing, but also cleverly quotes and adapts from classical music materials which retains Jiang’s usual music choice for his film. At the same time, Errèra also introduced music elements from typical western films to collide with this Chinese action film, resulting in many unexpected surprises.

The album is supervised under composer Nicolas Errèra with music editing and sequencing. Director Jiang Wen provided his handwriting in calligraphy for the alternative cover art as well as director’s note. The liner notes which include analysis of the score was written by Xinkai Sun after his interview with Errèra.

This is a limited edition of 500 units, with gold stamping numbering.

01. Hidden Man 05:00

02. Peiping 01:48

03. The Past* 01:05

04. Reunion* 02:33

05. Great Ancestor* 02:26

06. Qiaohong 01:12

07. Pennies from Heaven* 00:37

08. The Bell Tower 02:14

09. Brand You with My Name 02:58

10. Best Seamstress* 02:01

11. Out of Moves 01:47

12. Letter of Challenge 01:32

13. Moshi Moshi 02:17

14. Kajioka Kajioka 01:07

15. Revenge 01:39

16. I Can Find You 03:33

17. Qiaohong Reprise* 02:26

18. The Past* 01:02

*Unused Music

You might also like